Introducing: CLICarchive
We've been busy updating CLIConline behind the scenes, including tidying up old content and archiving users who no longer use the sites.
What does this mean?
CLIConline members that haven’t logged in the last 12 months (since October 2013) will have their accounts disabled, and those who haven’t logged in for the last 24 months (since October 2012) will have their accounts deleted.
These users will see the following message when trying to log-in:
"Oops, sorry… you haven’t logged in for a very long time so your account no longer exists. But hey - you can sign back up here, or contact us here".
Any articles submitted by CLIConline members that haven’t logged in the last 24 months will be moved and listed under the name ‘ArchifCLICacrchive’.
If any of this affects you please contact us and we will try to restore your original account.
We are still trying to figure out what to do with old comments (rather than just delete them) so we’d welcome any thoughts you have. Once decided we’ll let you know.
Articles » Categories » Technology
On the Web » Safety Information
Photo Credit: Kerem Tapani via Compfight cc








3 Comments – Post a comment
SamuelPatterson
Commented 19 months ago - 28th September 2014 - 18:47pm
I disapprove of this entirely and fail to see how inactivity poses a "security threat". If someone would care to enlighten me, I might be appreciative. Assuming it's not nonsense.
eddie secretary
Commented 19 months ago - 29th September 2014 - 16:34pm
I feel that this is potentially a good move but also a bit of a bad move... I can see the point that if someone hasn't used their Clic account for a long time we should delete their user accounts but first I would suggest a personalised email be sent to them to ask if they still wish to be a member of the site and if so to get them to log on more often and post say atleast 1 article a year... And the bad move is just deleting them without informing them...
Sam Sprout (Editor)
Commented 19 months ago - 30th September 2014 - 13:44pm
From what I've been told, the deletion of old accounts should be standard practice for any websites with a registration function - this was the gist in the report done for Welsh Government by some IT experts.